How to delete facebook account


Facebook is used by people all over the world to keep in touch with friends and family, as well as to have meaningless arguments with strangers over somewhat interesting cat videos. While some people believe that social media is an important part of their lives, others are concerned about data breaches and privacy concerns. People who want to take a break from Facebook, either temporarily or permanently, can find instructions for deleting or deactivating their accounts here.

Delete your Facebook profile

Using a browser to log out of Facebook

Permanently delete Facebook account is easier than you might believe. This link will take you to a page where you can permanently delete your account. Your account will be permanently erased after selecting Delete Account and entering your password. But before you do, make a backup of your Facebook data, which includes photos, videos, and other media. This official Facebook tutorial might be useful.

delete facebook account

How can I remove the Facebook app from my iPhone?

  • Open the Facebook app on your iPhone
  • The icon with three lines should be tapped (hamburger menu)
  • Choose Privacy and Settings
  • Choose Settings
  • Account Ownership and Control should be selected.
  • Deactivation and deletion are tapped
  • Then select "Delete Account"
  • For good measure, you can delete your Facebook app

How to deactivate your Facebook account on Android

  • On your Android device, open the Facebook app
  • The three-lined icon should be tapped (hamburger menu)
  • Select Privacy and Settings
  • Select Settings
  • Account Ownership and Control should be selected
  • Deactivation and deletion are tapped
  • Then select "Delete Account"
  • For good measure, you can delete your Facebook app

The drawbacks of deleting your Facebook account

Deleting your Facebook account could be liberating. You won't have to worry about protecting your privacy or consuming seemingly endless social media data. However, some people choose to deactivate rather than delete their Facebook account for the following reasons:

  • You won't be able to access Facebook again unless you create a new account
  • Using Messenger without a Facebook account is impossible
  • It's possible that some of the accounts you used Facebook Login to access have issues. You may need to contact those apps and websites or set up new accounts
  • Your data will be lost permanently unless you download a backup
  • Oculus will lose your app purchases, achievements, and other data associated with your Facebook login

Is it possible to restore Facebook if you change your mind?

According to Facebook, it takes up to 90 days from the commencement of the deletion request to permanently delete everything you've shared. As part of its data policy, it may even preserve some data in backup storage for legal reasons. After you delete your account, it also gives you a 30-day grace period. Here's how to stop your account from being deleted after 30 days:

  • Go to your Facebook account and sign in
  • Press the Cancel Deletion button

Deactivation of Facebook accounts

Deactivating your Facebook account is merely a band-aid. After you delete your Facebook account, your intro, photographs, friends, and posts are all hidden. Also, you may not add anyone as a friend. Your messages, on the other hand, remain visible to their intended recipients. Here are some of the advantages of deactivating rather than deleting your Facebook account:

  1. Your photos, videos, and posts have been temporarily hidden, but they have not been deleted
  2. Facebook Messenger is still operational
  3. Facebook Login can still be used to access accounts
  4. You may reactivate Facebook at any time by logging in

How to delete your Facebook account using a browser

Using the same URL that allows you to delete your account, you can deactivate it. Click "Deactivate Account" and then enter your password to temporarily disable Facebook access. Alternatively, you can use the following instructions:

  • From the top right drop-down menu, select Settings & Privacy
  • Choose Settings
  • Click on "Your Facebook Info"
  • Deactivation and deletion are selected
  • Continue to Account Deactivation after selecting Deactivate Account
  • Deactivate your account by entering your password

How to deactivate your Facebook account on your iPhone

  • On your iPhone, open the Facebook app
  • The three-lined icon should be tapped (hamburger menu)
  • Select Privacy and Settings
  • Select Settings
  • Account Ownership and Control should be selected
  • Deactivation and deletion are tapped
  • Deactivate the account

How to deactivate your Facebook account on your Android device

  • On your Android device, open the Facebook app
  • The three-lined icon should be tapped (hamburger menu)
  • Select Privacy and Settings
  • Select Settings
  • Account Ownership and Control should be selected
  • Deactivation and deletion are tapped
  • Tap "Account Deactivation"

Facebook account safety tips

Some people do not want to delete or deactivate Facebook because they are afraid of their safety. There are steps you can take to increase the privacy and security of your Facebook account. Here are some ideas that might be helpful:

  1. Make a long, unique password for your Facebook account. Use a trustworthy password manager to make the process easier
  2. Don't give out too much information on Facebook. Threat actors can utilize it for social engineering
  3. Accepting invitations from friends with caution only share it with a few close pals, not the entire world
  4. To limit the audience of previous posts on your timeline, go to General Privacy Your Activity Limit Past Posts
  5. Go to General Ads Ad Settings to stop Facebook from showing you tailored ads based on your data
  6. To manage third-party apps that have access to your data, go to General Apps and Websites
  7. Be on the lookout for social media scams and exercise caution when clicking links on Facebook or Messenger